Composition of the Certification Executive Committee

The Certification Executive Committee provides management and oversight of the Certification Commission, and reports to the IAEM-USA Board of Directors. It is composed of a chair, two vice chairs and two at-large members. These seats are annual terms. The Certification Commission as a whole nominates the chair and two at-large members. One vice chair is nominated by the USA, Canadian, Latin American, and International Commissioners, and the other vice chair is nominated by the Asian, Oceania, and European Commissioners. All Certification Executive Committee members must hold a current CEM certification.


Keith Dowler, MA, CEM, CBCP
System Director
Office of Emergency Management and Business Continuity
Inova Health System
Falls Church, Virginia
(completing term 12/31/18)

Vice Chairs

Valerie Lucus-McEwen, CEM, CBCP
Las Vegas, NV
(completing term 12/31/18)

Ian J. Carlton, CEM
Regional Officer Emergency Management
Victoria State Emergency Service
Bell Park (Geelong), Victoria, Australia
(completing term 12/31/18)


Nicholas de Rozario, CEM
Fire Management Officer
SA Department of Environment
Adelaide SA, Australia
(completing term 12/31/18)

Thomas D. Ignelzi, CEM, CCM, LEM
Vice President of Plans & Training
Ebbert and Associates
Metairie, LA
(completing term 12/31/19)


Board Liaison
Lanita Lloyd, CEM
Georgia Divisional Emergency Disaster Services Director
The Salvation Army
Villa Rica, GA

Staff Liaison
Kate McClimans
Program Manager
International Association of Emergency Managers
201 Park Washington Court
Falls Church, VA 22046-4527
(703) 538-1795; F: (703) 241-5603



AEM® and CEM® are registered trademarks of the International Association of Emergency Managers.