back to IAEM Awards home page

IAEM-Global Student Awards Competition

2018 Award Guidelines

Since this is a Global competition, entries are accepted any location worldwideEntrants will compete with entrants within their area, and winners will then compete at the Global level.

Award Categories

There are two (2) award categories in the IAEM-Global Student Awards Competition: (entries are accepted from any location)

  • Student of the Year Award – recognizes a student who has made significant contributions to the field of emergency and disaster management. This can be done through volunteer work, promotion of the field, and contributions in their community. High academic achievement is also required (both formal and/or continuing education). Must be enrolled in a program of studies in the field of emergency management, homeland security, or related academic field offered by an accredited institution of higher learning. Must be a member of the International Association of Emergency Managers during the calendar year of 2012. Must be nominated by an IAEM Member. No self-nominations accepted.
  • Student Ally of the Year Award – This award is presented to an individual (IAEM member or non-member) or organization who has assisted, promoted or supported IAEM students in their activities in the field of emergency management/homeland security and higher education. Examples could be individuals who ensured student involvement in emergency management programs or someone who guides students towards their degrees or CEM/AEM credentials. No self-nominations accepted.

For information on the additional two student awards open to USA entrants only, click here.

Awards Announcement and Presentation

Award winners of the annual IAEM-Global Student Awards Competition are announced by the IAEM-Global Awards Work Group. Award presentations will take place at the IAEM Annual Conference, Oct. 19-24, 2018, Grand Rapids, Michigan.