back to IAEM Awards home page

IAEM-Canada Awards Competition 

IAEM-Canada 2018 Call for Entries

IAEM-Canada is pleased to announce the 2018 invitations for nominations of emergency management practitioners who have made exemplary contributions to promote and improve the emergency management profession in Canada.

These awards are specific to Canadian members and complement those awards offered by IAEM-Global. Please take a moment to read about each of these exciting awards.

Nominations Are Now Open

Nomination is simple. Complete the appropriate form and submit to the email address below! IAEM-Canada members are eligible for the following award categories. Download the IAEM-Canada Awards Call for Entries and Guidelines, which includes detailed guidelines and eligibility criteria for each award category. Also, download the official entry form for the category or categories you wish to enter:

Entry Deadline: Friday, June 1, 2018, 5:00 p.m. Eastern time 
Nominations should be submitted via email to

IAEM-Canada Award Categories

The four IAEM-Canada award categories are: (More details are included in IAEM-Canada Awards Call for Entries and Guidelines.)

  • IAEM-Canada Career Excellence Award
    The IAEM-Canada Career Excellence Award recognizes a national leader who has made significant contributions throughout his/her career to promote and improve the emergency management profession in Canada.

  • IAEM Canada Emergency Management Volunteer Award
    The IAEM-Canada Emergency Management Volunteer Award recognizes a volunteer who has made significant contributions throughout the previous calendar year to promote and improve the emergency management profession in Canada.
  • IAEM-Canada Prepared Community Award
    To recognize a Canadian community effort with respect to the Emergency Management Principles of mitigation and preparedness to enhance public safety in Canada.
  • IAEM-Canada Merit Award
    To recognize an individual or organization for having performed a significant contribution to the Emergency Management field in Canada within the previous calendar year. Contributions may include an individual or organization who champions EM, BC/COOP, has developed a successful record or community engagement around the pillars of EM, Health & Environmental Safety, or other programming related to emergency management.

Help spread the word!

Please help your network by spreading the word:

  • Follow IAEM @IAEMCanada on Twitter and retweet our posts.
  • Ask a friend/colleague/acquaintance: “Have you nominated someone for the 2018 IAEM-Canada Awards yet?"

It is our hope to give credit for the hard work our members do, but we need your help! Please consider your network, and help the association promote the excellent work of emergency management in Canada. We sincerely thank you for taking the time to nominate outstanding members of the IAEM-Canada Council.

And don’t forget ... IAEM-Canada members are also eligible to enter the IAEM-Global Awards Competition at the IAEM-Canada level, with Canada winners then competing at the global level. The four types of IAEM-USA Global Awards are: Public Awareness, Technology & Innovation, Partners in Preparedness, and Business & Industry Preparedness. There are also two IAEM-Global Student Awards: Student of the Year and Student Ally of the Year. Links to information on IAEM-Global awards are available here.

– IAEM-Canada Membership Engagement Committee