IAEM 2018 Awards Competition

IAEM News Release2018 IAEM Awards Competitions and Categories
2018 Awards CategoriesGlobal Awards | Canada Awards | USA Awards 
Winning Entries from Previous Competitions2017 | 2016 | 2015

Announcement from the Ministry of Recognition: The New and Improved IAEM Awards Program
By Cullen Case Jr., MPA, CEM, and Rocky Lopes, Ph.D., Chair, IAEM Awards & Recognition Committee
(published in the May 2018 issue of the IAEM Bulletin)

The purpose of the IAEM Awards Competition is to recognize and honor persons who have made special or significant contributions to the field of emergency management and have represented the profession well by their outstanding performance.

Status of the 2018 IAEM Awards Competition

  • IAEM award entries are not being accepted at this time.
  • The entry period closed on June 1, 2018, 5:00 p.m. Eastern time for all IAEM award competitions.
  • The next awards competition will take place in Spring 2019.
  • 2018 Notifications and Presentations
    • Judging will take place during the month of June, and all award entrants will be notified of results by early July 2018.
    • Awards will be announced and certificates will be presented at the IAEM Annual Conference, Oct. 19-24, 2018, Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA. If you will not be present to accept your award certificate, you can designate another person to accept it on your behalf or we can mail it to you at the address you supply to us.

2018 IAEM Awards Competitions and Categories

Listed below are the competitions and categories that were offered in the 2018 IAEM Awards Competitions.

Global Awards Competition

The IAEM-Global Awards guidelines and entry forms are posted at the links below. Read the guidelines for information about the award categories and how to enter the competition. The competition is administered by the IAEM-Global Awards & Recognition Work Group. The award categories are:

  • IAEM-Global Awards Competition (those in any location can enter). Categories include:
    • Business & Industry Preparedness Award (one winner)
    • Partners in Preparedness Award (one winner)
    • Public Awareness Awards (one winner)
    • Technology & Innovation Awards (one winner)
  • IAEM-Global Student Awards Competition (those in any location can enter). Categories include:
    • Student of the Year Award (one winner)
    • Student Ally of the Year Award (one winner)

Canada-Only Awards Competition

IAEM-Canada offers four award categories for Canada-only entries. The competition is administered by the IAEM-Canada Membership Engagement Committee.

  • IAEM-Canada Career Excellence Award (Canada only)
  • IAEM-Canada Emergency Management Volunteer Award (Canada only)
  • IAEM-Canada Prepared Community Award (Canada only)
  • IAEM-Canada Merit Award (Canada only)

USA Only Awards Competition

IAEM-USA offers the following ten award categories for USA-only entriesThe competition is administered by the IAEM-USA Awards & Recognition Committee. The award categories are: 

  • IAEM-USA Clayton R. Christopher Memorial Award (USA only)
  • IAEM-USA Emergency Manager of the Year Award (USA only) – NEW IN 2018!
  • IAEM-USA Career Excellence Award (USA only)
  • IAEM-USA Uniformed Services Awards (USA only)
    • IAEM-USA Military Uniformed Services Emergency Manager of the Year Award
    • IAEM-USA Civilian Uniformed Services Emergency Manager of the Year Award
    • IAEM-USA Uniformed Services Auxiliary Member of the Year Award
  • IAEM-USA Emergency Management (EM) Volunteer Awards (USA only)
    • EM Volunteer of the Year Award
    • EM Voluntary Organization of the Year Award
  • IAEM-USA Student Awards (USA only)
    • Student Chapter of the Year
    • Student Chapter Advisor of the Year